Today (Friday) and Tuesday I went to a fitness class at my gym called Body Works plus Abs. I'm not sure if a lot of fitness gurus would think much of a LA Fitness class, but this is class is just at the right level for me with the instructor. She mixes strength training that targets certain muscle groups with cardio, and with other exercises likes squats and such. Lots and lots of beautiful squats. Then we do ab exercises at the end. The strength training definitely wears me out in a good way, and the best part is you pick your weights so I try to do what I know is going to be challenging. The cardio we do is much like what we do in conditioning for rugby, for example jumping jacks, high knees, burpees, mountain climbers, all the favorites. Haha, or not. Actually the cardio is the most challenging for me so far (go figure I always knew this is something I need to work on). I hope by continuing to go this class I will be fitter when rugby season comes around again.
I'm feeling mixed things about rugby right now. Again go figure, it's always been a love/hate relationship. I love the camaraderie, the kicking ass part, and the great feeling of exhaustion and accomplishment after a good game or practice, but I hate it when I feel like the worst girl on the field. I think I would love it even more if I was in better shape and was better at the basics. Getting in shape is really hard y'all! Like really really hard! Sigh, but you know what they say, if it was easy everyone would do it, right? I'm working on it, I really really want to be better for the fall and spring. If I'm not ready then it might be time to stop. I don't want to, but it might just be my time and focus on something else. For all the time I've spent trying to play rugby, it sure has given a lot to me that I have neither the energy or thought process to describe right now.
BUT on a happier note, I have so good news....well it could be good news I am not sure yet. On THIS Tuesday I have a consultation to see if I can get LASIK. I've always been scared of it, I mean they slicing into your freakin' eyes! But I'm tired of wearing contacts and since my parents are willing to pay for it, I'd be stupid not to. I have heard from my sister and mom that it really really isn't that bad and sooo completely worth it. Also in other medical news, I will most likely be getting my wisdom teeth out August 3rd, which is completely scary to me because I have never had surgery before, and now I will be out of it while they slice my mouth open. Okay gotta stop thinking about it, that's gross.
Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that i have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. cubicles in miami
ReplyDelete